About System of a DownA household name for many fans of metal and rock, System of a Down formed in Glendale, California in 1994 before rocketing to fame in 2001. The band currently comprises of Daron Malakian, Serj Tankian, Shavo Odadijian and John Dolmayanh. The band produces a mix of progressive metal, nu metal and experimental music. The band employs a wide selection of different instruments including ouds, sitars and baritone, giving them a unique sound. The band saw their first major success with their album 'Toxicity' released in 2001 which later became triple platinum in the US. Despite a disappointing third album the band returned to form in 2005 with number one US albums 'Mezmerize' and 'Hypnotize' that have both gone platinum in the US.Despite rumours the band will soon be getting back together, System of a Down are still currently on hiatus indefinitely, a fact confirmed in 2009 interview with band member Serj Tankian.